MARK 16:15-20

MARK 16:15-20

 15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation. 16 Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned. 17And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons;they will speak in new tongues; 18 they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.”

   19 After the Lord Jesus had spoken to them, he was taken up into heaven and he sat at the right hand of God. 20 Then the disciples went out and preached everywhere, and the Lord worked with them and confirmed his word by the signs that accompanied it.

Reding this gospel today humbled me and reminded me of how the Lord really has been with me, and will always be with me since i started embracing the missionary life.

Mark 15:16 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation

When He called me to be “HIS” He sent me to a lot of far away places and made me stay there, live there and share my life there. My first assignment in Singles Ministry was to travel and serve in pastoral part of conferences in Visayas and Mindanao for a year. Then I was sent to Latin America and some other places.

2007: USA, Costa Rica

2007-2009: Peru , Ecuador

2008: Panama

2009-2010  Argentina

2010: USA,  France

2011: USA, different provinces of the Philippines

2012: Taiwan, and  In May, they are sending me to Israel for 3 months mission.

Mark 16:16  Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved…

Indeed the Lord was with me all the way, and will always be! I needed to undergo a major surgery during my mission in Peru, the Lord provided for everything through the community; finances to pay my hospital bills, people who will bring me to the hospital, people who will take care of me during my recovery and people who will feed me while i was in bed. I never felt so alone nor abandoned during that time. I was with the Lord through my hispanic community.

Mark 16:17 …they will speak in new tongues…

This words are so true to me! When i was sent to Peru to live there for 2 years i did not know how to speak Spanish. I knew some phrases but that was not enough to survive and literally to do mission. I cried for the language. There was one morning, during my prayer time and i was telling the Lord, that maybe it was a mistake for me to be there. But His greatness is definitely bigger than my worries, on my 3rd month in Peru i found myself giving a full talk, in front of our Peruvian youth members. And that was because, God wanted me to do so. And it happened!

Mark 16:17 …and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all…

I was thought as a missionary not to say no to any food that will be offered to us by our host families and or in any foreign place because we might offend them. There were a lot of different types of offered and i said yes. Different types and was obviously prepared in different manner as well, some were obviously prepared cleanly and some were not that so clean comparing how my Nanay would prepare it at home. BUT i said yes, i will eat it. Thank you! It didn’t hurt me. I survived. In Argentina, they have this tradition to serve “mate” or herb drink and is serve in one cup with a bulb where you will sip the mate or herb tea. BUT you will have to do this by sharing it with the whole group, and everyone sipping in that one bulb or like a stainless made straw. In my country, each one would have their own cup to sip. It was odd then for me to do that and “happily” share their culture. Heyyy, I am safe. I didn’t get any sickness with that “sipping party!” Remembering it now, i miss it!

Mark 16:17 …they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.

Many would invite us in their houses for a meal and chat. They love hearing our mission stories and our Jesus’ encounter stories. I say, this is our business to gossip Jesus’s miracles in my life. And towards the end of our visit and our story telling, we would find ourselves praying over the family. It is a beautiful privilege indeed to pray for someone. As we lay our hands, open our palms i know, i believe that there goes a lot of blessings and graces for the family. I am humbled to be use by God as His channel of peace, grace and joy through my palm so willing enough to lay hands and pray over our friends and families.

Mark 16:20 Then the disciples went out and preached everywhere, and the Lord worked with them and confirmed his word by the signs that accompanied it.

Until now, i know the Lord is sending me. I am back here in the Philippines, doing the same work but using my own language most comfortably, visiting and meeting up with family and friends BUT the anointing and the calling is the same from the one WHO sent us. HE continues to send me in the most unexpected places and meet awesome people with awesome stories to share. This weekend we’re travelling to Baguio to help out in the Congress of our sisters in the Handmaids ministry. And next month, i was told that i will be sent to Israel for 3 months mission. There are other more schedules i have here with me, BUT i know in my heart that the Lord is the one sending me and that HE will be with me. HE is my forever “mission partner” in this work. And i am totally humbled for this and say I AM PRIVILEGED, LORD!

Leave a Reply

