HAPPY FEAST SAINT ANTHONY DE PADUA

Anthony of Padua or Anthony of Lisbon, O.F.M., (born Fernando Martins de Bulhões; 15 August 1195 – 13 June 1231)[1] was a Portuguese Catholic priest and friar of the Franciscan Order. Though he died in Padua, Italy, he was born to a wealthy family in Lisbon, Portugal, which is where he was raised. Noted by his contemporaries for his forceful preaching and expert knowledge of Scripture, he was declared a saint almost immediately after his death and proclaimed a Doctor of the Church in 16 January 1946.

St Anthony’s portrait – i am blessed to have taken this picture from the Church of St John the Baptist at Ein Karem (Hebrew:. “Spring of the Vineyard”, and Arabic: عين كارم‎ – ‘Ein Kārem), is an ancient village of the Jerusalem District and now a neighbourhood in southwest Jerusalem in Israel. According to Christian tradition, John the Baptist was born in Ein Karem, leading to the establishment of many churches and monasteries.

Prayers to St. Anthony of Padua

Patron of Seekers of Lost Articles Patron of the Poor

Unfailing Prayer to St. Anthony

“Blessed be God in His angels and in His saints.”

O Holy St. Anthony, gentlest of Saints, you love for God and Charity for His creatures, made you worthy, when on earth, to possess miraculous powers. Miracles waited on your word, which you were ever ready to speak for those in trouble or anxiety. Encouraged by this thought, I implore of you to obtain for me (state request here). The answer to my prayer may require a miracle, even so, you are the Saint of Miracles.

O gentle and loving St. Anthony, whose heart was ever full of human sympathy, whisper my petition into the eaars of the Sweet Infant Jesus, who loved to be folded in your arms; and the gratitude of my heart will ever be yours. Amen.

(Then say the Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be)

Seeking a Lost Article

Dear St. Anthony, you are the patron of the poor and the helper of all who seek lost articles. Help me to find the object I have lost so that I will be able to make better use of the time that I will gain for God’s greater honor and glory. Grant your gracious aid to all people who seek what they have lost—especially those who seek to regain God’s grace. Amen.

To Find a Lost Article

St. Anthony, perfect imitator of Jesus, who received from God the special power of restoring lost things, grant that I may find (name your lost item) which has been lost. At least restore to me peace and tranquility of mind, the loss of which has afflicted me even more than my material loss. To this favor, I ask another of you: that I may always remain in possession of the true good that is God. Let me rather lose all things than lose God, my supreme good. Let me never suffer the loss of my greatest treasure, eternal life with God. Amen.

Leave a Reply

